BLOGPOLL: N.L. Awards 7/22

Each week, I am participating in the 2008 MLB Blog Poll at Below are my current votes for the Most Valuable Player, Cy Young and Rookie of the Year awards. These votes will be tabulated among other votes from other blogs to create a running master list of voting as the year progresses.
1. 1B Albert Pujols, STL: This man is essentially single-handley keeping the Cardinals in contention.
2. 2B Chase Utley, PHI: Utley is going to be increasingly important to the Phillies’ hopes of holding the Mets off.
3. 2B Dan Uggla, FLA: See Pujols and Utley.
Cy Young:
1. SP Edison Volquez, CIN: Volquez isn’t pitching like he was, but he’s still good enough to be No. 1.
2. SP Tim Lincecum, SF: The young, thin guy from a terrible team is opening eyes everywhere.
3. SP Brandon Webb, ARI: He leads the N.L. in wins and has a more than respectable 3.11 ERA.
Rookie of the Year:
1. C Geovany Soto, CHC: The backstop is chugging along.
2. 1B Joey Votto, CIN: The reason the future is bright in Cincy is because of Votto, Volquez and Jay Bruce.
3. SP Jair Jurrjens, ATL: The Braves still think they’re in the race, and Jair is a big reason why.
What do you think? Did I do a good job picking the award winners if the season was to end today?

Categories: Albert Pujols Blogpoll Awards Brandon Webb Chase Utley Dan Uggla Edison Volquez Geovany Soto Jair Jurrjens Joey Votto Tim Lincecum

Born on the 37th anniversary of the the day Babe Ruth died (1985) which later became the day Jimy Williams was fired in 2001 (a monumental event at the time), Evan was too young to experience the pain 1986 brought, but a deep wound was sowed in 2003. Since then, Fire Brand has become a blog that Red Sox “club officials read,” as per Peter Gammons. Evan enjoys working out, writing, reading, quality television, science fiction and history and being newly married. He is a professional baseball journalist as well as president of a state non-profit and member of the Board of Directors for a national profit. (Twitter.)

One Response to “BLOGPOLL: N.L. Awards 7/22” Subscribe

  1. Daniel Rathman July 23, 2008 at 11:19 AM #

    I agree pretty much across the board. The only difference on my board would be Dan Haren in 3rd in the NL Cy Young voting. He leads the NL in WHIP and hasn't had a non-quality start since May 27th.